Wallaces Hut - Official Home of Falls Creek Alpine Resort
|Built over six weeks in 1889 by the Wallace brothers Arthur, William and Stewart, Wallaces Hut is the oldest standing mountain hut in the Bogong High Plains Alpine National Park.|
|After the Wallace's lease of the high plains area had expired in the 1930s the State Electricity Commission (SEC) assumed ownership of the hut, using it for their survey team. Constructed from slabs of Snowgum, the hut’s original woollybutt roof shingles were then replaced with corrugated iron as were the chimney and walls. |
When the SEC had no further use for Wallaces Hut they decided to retrieve their corrugated iron thus exposing this historic hut to the weather. Rover Scouts banded together and raised the necessary finances to purchase the iron from the SEC ensuring the hut would retain its identity.
Wallaces Hut stands as a slice of human history and acts as a refuge in the rugged high country. The hut has been classified by the National Trust in 1988.
To visit Wallaces Hut
|Drive out the Bogong High Plains Road from Falls Creek towards Omeo. This road is now sealed to make the journey even more pleasurable. Follow the road for approximately 7.5 kms from the dam wall and park your car at the signed entrance. From there it is an easy graded 750m walk into the hut.|